Head of Staffing, County Directors moved, interdicted in major TSC transfers

Teachers Service Commission (TSC) has conducted a radical transfers and promotions of its senior officers at the headquarters and the field, Newskali has established.

The changes have been caused by exits through retirement of previous office holders and the need to boost service delivery.

Rita Wahome, who has been the head of Staffing at the Commission, has been moved to the less visible Field Services docket to replace Mary Rotich who retired early this year.

Antonina Lentoijoni, who has been her deputy, is now acting on the position pending a substantive appointment. Staffing is the most influential department at the Commission’s Secretariat.

Ms Wahome, a former County TSC Director, has had several run-ins with her employer. Last year, she was suspended for some time under unclear circumstances but was later reinstated by the TSC CEO Dr Nancy Macharia.

She has been the head of staffing but insiders say that she has not been very visible in her duties as her boss was perceived to prefer to work with her deputy, Antonina Lentoijoni.

The changes also saw several County Directors, Deputy Directors and Sub-County Directors being reshuffled as others were interdicted.

In the new shake-up, Kakamega County Director John Nzuvu Nzioka has been moved to Baringo to replace James Nyakweba who retired early this year.

Until recently, Everlyne Kinaka, who was Nyakweba’s deputy, had been acting as Director.  However, her hopes of being confirmed on the position were dashed following her interdiction after being ensnared in a scandal involving questionable recruitment exercise of teachers in Tiaty sub-counties.

Two Sub-County Directors from the region were also interdicted over the same allegations.  The affected officers are Juma Lomurgelem (Tiaty West) and Jared Wepukhulu (Tiaty East).

Siaya TSC County Director Dr. Esther Njiru has been transferred to Taita-Taveta County to replace Peter Mugo who proceeded to retirement recently.

Aneriko Maloba, who has been the Tana-River Director, has been moved to Siaya to replace Njiru.

David Gutu, who has been the Deputy Director Makueni, has been promoted to full director and posted to Tana-River County boss after Maloba’s transfer.

Margaret Kamau, who has been the Migori Director, now heads to Embu after serving for a short stint at her current station.

Her replacement is Ann Wawuda who has been promoted from a Sub-County Director to a full Director. Her previous station was Matungulu Sub-County in Machakos County.

Kamau will replace Margaret Kinyanjui who has been transferred from Embu to Kakamega.

Kisii Director Jane Mwaniki has been moved to Kitui to replace Solomon Odipo who has since retired while Ms Anne Wachira, who has been serving as Machakos Director, goes to take over from Mwaniki.

Turkana Director Lewis Mutegi has now been moved to Machakos to replace Ms. Wachira while Florence Momanyi, who has been the Deputy Director Kakamega, has been promoted to full director and posted to Isiolo. She will replace a Mr. Wachira who has been transferred to Lamu.

Ali Hussein, who has been doubling up as the Deputy County Director Mombasa and also Mvita Sub-County Director, has been promoted to full director and posted to Turkana to replace  Mutegi.

Hussein will be replaced by Caren Achieng Onthoro who has been the Sub-County Director for Kakamega East.

Sammy Loitakol, who was the Deputy Director Laikipia County, has been promoted and now heads to Marsabit as new County Director. He takes over from Russel Wafula, who was interdicted recently.

Wafula is currently embroiled in a case about questionable sale of vehicle spare parts that arose at his previous station in Nyandarua County.

Other Deputy County Directors have also been moved amongst them the Deputy Director of Turkana Wilfred Mosigisi who has swapped places with one Solomon Buyela from Nandi.

At the same time, Francis Saina has been moved from Vihiga to Migori as Deputy Director to replace James Biego who retired recently.

It has been established that more changes are expected in the next one week.

TSC Head of Staffing, Rita Wahome moved to Field Services
Baringo County TSC Director James Nyakweba retired recently
Ms. Anne Wachira, moved from Machakos to Kisii
TSC Director Embu County Margaret Wanjiru Kinyanjui goes to Kakamega
TSC Head of Staffing, Rita Wahome moved to Field Services
TSC Taita Taveta County Director, Peter Mugo retired
Turkana TSC Director Lewis Mutegi moves to Machakos
Acting County TSC Director Mr Everlin Kinaka, interdicted
Dr. Esther Njiru, moves from Siaya to Taita Taveta
Makueni County TSC deputy director David Gutu, new Director Tana River
Mr. Mohammed Ali Hussein, Mvita Sub-County TSC Director now Turkana TSC boss


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.