Just in: Schools to Break for Halfterm on 1st August 2022

General elections on August 9th will cause a permanent disruption to the academic calendar because many educational institutions will act as voting centers.

Part  of the blueprints shows that primary, secondary, universities, and technical training facilities make up the majority of the institutions.

A number of Schools that will act as tallying centers will break for midterm on Monday, five days earlier than other schools, according to information provided by the education ministry, IEBC, and the designated schools.

As the school has been designated as a tallying center, students will break for midterm on Monday, January 8, 2022 at 8am, according to the notification.

The Students will be released from schools that won’t be used as tallying centers on August 5 in preparation for the half-term holiday.

“Dear parent, on Friday, May 8, 2022, please arrive and pick up your daughter (name withheld) by 9am. The notice states that the resume date will be announced later.

Now depending on how the schools are set up, some will start releasing kids for midterm break on Wednesday, August 3, 2022, even though they won’t be serving as tallying centers.

Former school calendar for the Ministry of Education stipulated that students should take a break on August 11 and return after three days.

Most schools will suspend studies between August 1 and August 10 due to the election scheduled for August 9.

Nearly 250 schools will serve as tallying centers, according to a gazette notice from the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

Under the second schedule of county tallying centers, schools will be used as the tallying centers in 15 of the 47 counties.

This  notice lists the following counties: Mombasa, Embu, Kiambu, Nakuru, Trans Nzoia, Kakamega, Tana River, Nyeri, Kapsabet, and Vihiga.

Others include Nyamira, Machakos, Isiolo, Murang’a, and Laikipia.

17 additional higher education institutions will serve as county tallying centers, according to the IEBC.

As per  to the notification, the counties in question include Kilifi, Taita Taveta, Garissa, Baringo, Kericho, Busia, Garissa, Makueni, Narok, Bomet, Kisumu, and Turkana.

The others  also include the counties of Uasin Gishu, Kajiado, Bungoma, Homa Bay, Migori, and Kisii.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.