New Official TSC Grading System For All Teachers In Ruto’s Government

The current TSC upgrading of teachers contributed to the scrapping off of some job groups and merging of others.


With the new system of grading tutors, the grade that was previously known as P1, which was under Job Group G, was scrapped off and replaced with Grade B5.


The above grade was designated as the new entry grade for all tutors at the primary school level.


Other grades that followed were re-structured and re-named as follows:


J to C1

K to C2

L to C3

M to C4

N to C5


Another rank that belonged to the higher band which was designated as P, Q and R.


They include :


P to D1

Q to D2

R to D3


On the other hand, Kenyan National Union of Teachers requested for an additional job groups S and T, which the commission granted. Under the new grading, the two categories were named D4 and D5, respectively.


Under this new grading, the  chief principals now fall under category D5 of the new grading system. Teachers Service Commission TSC New Grading Scale


Official TSC designation code for teachers


Immediately the Salaries and Remuneration Commission undertook the job evaluation exercise, a new grading system was introduced.


This new grading offered new job groups for teachers, and below are the designation codes for each category.


Grade B5 (T-Scale 5) – Primary Educator II

Grade C1(T-Scale 6) – Primary Teacher I, Secondary teacher II, and lecturer III

Grade C2 (T-Scale 7) – Secondary Educator II, Senior Educator II, Lecturer II, and Special Need Education Educator (for primary schools)

Grade C3 (T-Scale 8) – Secondary Educator I, Special Need Education Teacher I (for primary schools), Lecturer I, Senior Teacher I, and Special Need Education Educator II (for secondary schools)

GradeC4 (T-Scale 9) – Senior Master IV, Special Need Education Senior Teacher (for primary schools), Senior Lecturer IV, Deputy Head Educator II and Special Need Education Teacher I (for secondary schools)

GradeC5 (T-Scale 10) – Senior Master III, Deputy Principal IV, Senior Lecturer III, Deputy Head Teacher, Head Educator, and Curriculum Support Officer II.

Grade D1(T-Scale 11) – Deputy Principal III, Senior Master II, Senior Lecturer II, Curriculum Support Officer I, and

and Senior Head Educator.

Grade D2 (T-Scale 12) – Senior Master I and Deputy Principal II

Grade D3 (T-Scale 13) – Deputy Principal I and Principals

Grade D4 (T-Scale 14) – Senior Principals

Grade D5 (T-Scale 15) – Chief Principals

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.