Official TSC list of Hardiship areas in which salaries of teachers will be delayed. Check out more details below


Share post:

The Teachers Service Commission (TSC) will delay payment for hardship allowance in some of the recently listed areas.

Join Us On Telegram


Join Us On Telegram




Hardship allowance was introduced as an incentive to teachers and other public officers working in remote areas to compensate for lack of amenities, infrastructure and a challenging environment.


Join Us On Telegram


Some of the areas the Teachers Service Commission considers are those that lack access to food, adequate transport and communication, have limited access to social amenities as well as face harsh climate and insecurity.





TSC and three teachers unions which represented primary school teachers, post primary school teachers and teachers working in special schools agreed in a deal that led to signing of a Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) 2021 – 2025.




In the agreement TSC together with Knut (Kenya National Union of Teachers), Kuppet (Kenya Union of Post Primary Education Teachers) and Kusnet (Kenya Union of Special Need Education Teachers) eighteen areas were listed as the new official hardship areas.



TSC also said it will endeavor to promote members serving in ASAL (Arid Semi Arid Lands) and hard to staff areas holding administrative positions progressively until they attain grades that are commensurate to their respective positions.



The official approved Hardship  areas in the Newly signed CBA are as follows :

1) Baringo North; Tiaty East, Tiaty West and Marigat sub-counties in Baringo County.


2) Garissa County


3) Suba and Mbita sub-counties in Homa Bay County


4) Isiolo County


5) Mashuuru, Loitoktok and Kajiado West sub-counties in Kajiado County


6) Kwale County


7) Magarini and Ganze in Kilifi County


8) Lamu County


9) Mandera County


10) Marsabit County



11)Mumoni, Mutito North and Tseikuru sub-counties in Kitui County


12) Narok South and Narok North sub-counties in Narok County


13) Samburu County


14) Taita Taveta County


15) Tana River County


16) Turkana County


17) Wajir County


18) West Pokot County


TSC scrapped off payment of hardship allowance in some Counties. These Counties include Nyandarua, Nandi, Nakuru, Kisumu, Kajiado, Busia, Kitui, Kericho and Makueni.



Last year the World Bank asked Kenya to scrap hardship allowance to save Sh3 billion as part of cost-cutting measures to return the country on track after increased spending during the coronavirus pandemic.



The Bretton Woods institution argued that publci officers enjoying the highest  allowances work in areas categorized as hardship decades ago, but have since developed and no longer qualify for the tag.



“The review of hardship zones is needed as several regions have developed their infrastructure and social amenities over the last two decades and are no longer classified hardship areas,” the World Bank report on Kenya Public Expenditure Review reads.



However teachers working in areas that have been listed as hardship areas and were previously not enjoying the hardship allowance will have to wait longer for its implementation.



This is because of incomplete country wide data collection exercise. The exercise involves a country-wide data collection exercise by the Inter-Agency Technical Committee comprising of officers from Ministry of Public Service and Gender, Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government, Ministry of Education, The National Treasury and Planning, Public Service Commission, Teachers Service Commission, Kenya National Bureau of Statistics, Council of Governors, Commission on Revenue Allocation, Salaries and Remuneration Commission and The Judiciary.



The Technical Committee undertook phase I of the exercise during the 2020/2021 financial year.



However, owing to financial constraints, phase II of the exercise could not be undertaken to finalize the exercise in the same year. The exercise is scheduled to start from 5th to 17th September, 2021.

Join Our Other 1000+ E-Mail Subscribers.Its Free😂😂

* indicates required
Which Topics Are You Interested In?
    Choose A Topic


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Related articles

    TSC Announces new Recruitment Selection Criteria For Teachers July 2022

    Primary School Teachers’ Selection Criteria Applicants shall be awarded marks as per the recruitment score sheet.   Where applicants tie in...

    Former KNUT secretary Wilson Sossion finally speaks about the firing of TSC deputy Dr. Kennedy Mulunda. Checkout full detailed report below

    Former Kenya National Union of Teachers (KNUT) Secretary General (SG) Wilson Sossion, has condemned the dismissal of Teachers...

    Confirmed! Teachers with CBC upgrading certificate to be given first priority in 2022 July TSC Mass Recruitment Exercise-TSC CEO

    It has come out clearly that teachers with CBC upgrading certificates will have a better chance of being...

    KUCCPS 2022/2023 Access Links to Admission letters for all universities and colleges

    All the 2021 Kenya Certificate of Secondary Exams (KCSE) candidates have been assigned to their Course -choice to...