TSC Official additional list of municipality towns which every teacher should know

Housing allowance is paid to all the teachers on a monthly basis. It is paid on two criteria; Job grade and workstation.




Teachers in higher job groups earn more housing allowance than teachers in lower cadre.




The Pay and Remuneration Commission has also divided the work center of teachers into four zones.



Teachers working in Nairobi and towns that were formerly municipalities get the highest housing allowance, while those doing their business in stores (other areas) get the least.




The following is a list of areas where schools are mapped under the municipality.


Not all schools in the capital are mapped under municipalities. Only schools in the following regions in Nairobi that have been mapped under municipality by SRC.  Below is the list,

  • Westlands
  • Dagoretti
  • Kasarani
  • Langata
  • Starehe
  • Kamukunji
  • Embakasi
  • Njiru
  • Makadara



Former Major Municipalities are

  1. Mombasa,
  2. Kisumu,
  3. Nakuru,
  4. Nyeri,
  5. Eldoret,
  6. Thika,
  7. Kisii,
  8. Malindi
  9. Kitale.





Other former Municipalities are, Ruiru, Kikuyu, Kitui, Machakos, Mlolongo, Athi River, Vihiga, Wote, Mumias, Bomet, Limuru, Kericho, Kimilili, Kakamega, Kapsabet, Kiambu, Bungoma, Webuye, Busia, Runyenjes, Migori, Embu, Homa Bay, Lodwar, Meru, Nyahururu, Nanyuki, Maua, Voi, Siaya, Chuka and Kerugoya.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.